Matt Menary won his first race as eight Haldon Trail Runners took part in the Otterton Reindeer Run 10k.

He finished first in the multi-terrain race in East Devon in a time of 38.06, with Joe Osborne fifth in 39.40 and Andy Vulliamy sixth in 39.42.

James Cockroft also made the top 10 as he was ninth in 39.50. In addition, Matt Richards was 17th in 42.16 and Dan Grey 30th in 45.52.

In the women’s race, Cathy Cole was second in 43.58 and Anthea Board was fifth in 46.31, also winning the over-50 section.

Later the same day, the club held its Christmas party, which saw the annual awards handed out.

The club runs mile time trials for members on the track at Exeter Arena during the winter and at Haldon Forest Park during the summer.

Needing two times to qualify to win, the awards went to James Denne and Charlotte Burrows for the track mile with times of 4.41 and 5.46 respectively. The Haldon awards went to Matt Menary and Lizzy Dyson, with 5.10 and 5.45.

There are also awards for the most improved male and female, with Alex Crump and Dyson taking the trophies this year.

A week later, a trio of Haldon Trail Runners took part in the 8.5-mile Race the Light event in South Devon.

The course took runners through tracks and trails on the Flete Estate.

New member Andy Collins was 36th in a time of 1.16.6, with Ben Epps 52nd in 1.19.20 and Chris Hucker 107th in 1.31.13.