A HISTORIC Teignbridge mine with original machinery dating back to the early 20th century is to open its doors to the public for a special open day next month.

Kelly Mine, on the eastern flank of Dartmoor near Lustleigh, will welcome visitors on Sunday, September 6, from 10.30am to 4pm.

Admission is free, with voluntary cash donations welcomed, and refreshments will be available.

Visitors will be able to see features including a turbine and waterwheels, ore stamps, the mine's rail system and incline, along with other surviving machinery and workings.

Kelly Mine was one of a number of mines in the area extracting micaceous iron oxide (MIO), also known as micaceous haematite or ‘shiny ore’.

The flaky form of iron oxide was not used to produce iron, but was valuable for other purposes, including the manufacture of corrosion-resistant paint used to protect iron and steel structures during the industrial age.

While the mine was relatively small, its surviving equipment makes it an important reminder of Devon's industrial past.

Kelly Mine finally closed in 1951, when the company operating it, Ferrubron, was in debt to the landowner for rent and royalties.

Rather than removing the equipment, the company left the machinery on site.

More than 30 years later, in 1984, the landowner agreed to lease the site to a group of mining enthusiasts, helping to preserve the mine and its machinery for future generations.

The open day offers members of the public a rare opportunity to explore this remarkable piece of Devon's mining history.

Kelly Mine is located on the A382 Bovey Tracey to Moretonhampstead road, approximately 2.5 miles north of Bovey Tracey Fire Station.

Free parking is available by turning towards Lustleigh from the A382, with the parking area around 300 yards on the left.